He's not listening or respecting my wishes

"It's complicated..."

He's not listening or respecting my wishes

Postby amandapdx » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:34 pm

My boyfriend is mostly loving, supportive, a great listener and ultra trustworthy. But when it comes to my pets he thinks he is the authority and disregards my thoughts and feelings. I am a veterinarian and my pets are my family, whereas he has had pets in the past but they lived outdoors and were fed scraps for food which is something I'd never do. We've had several conversations where he has argued I spoil my pets and I should just do it his way, etc. He's also made a few callous remarks about how they're only animals and not people...but to me they're all I have, and the only ones who have been there for me through some hard times.

It seems silly for this to keep coming up. All I want is for him to respect that I have a different opinion even if he doesn't agree. I respect his opinion but the big issue is I just left my pets with him for a week and he disregarded my instructions on how to care for them and did it more his way. Yet again I calmly (without anger, yelling or crying) explained how important my pets are, and how I feel like my feelings and wishes are being disrespected. He's acting like he knows better and said the pets are happy so what's the big deal.

The question is whether this is a sign of a bigger issue? How can you trust someone who decides which of your feelings matter and which don't? And also should I have to keep having this same conversation with him and not be making any progress to mutual respect and understanding? Is there some other way I can make my feelings and wishes clear to him?
amandapdx

Re: He's not listening or respecting my wishes

Postby bedazzle » Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:01 am